

Legislative Assembly Province of Alberta

No. 23

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

Fourth Session

Twenty-Ninth Legislature

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

The Acting Speaker took the Chair at 9:00 a.m.

Government Motions

16. Moved by Hon. Mr. Feehan on behalf of Hon. Mr. Mason:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly concur in the report of the Standing Committee on Legislative Offices tabled on April 10, 2018 (Sessional Paper 67/2018), and recommend to the Lieutenant Governor in Council that Mr. Lorne Gibson be appointed as Election Commissioner for a term of 5 years commencing May 15, 2018.

Debate continued on the amendment moved by Mr. van Dijken, Hon. Member for Barrhead-Morinville-Westlock, on May 1, 2018, that the motion be amended by adding the following after "May 15, 2018":

and be it further resolved that following the passage of this motion the Election Commissioner's salary be posted publicly on the website of the Standing Committee on Legislative Offices.

The question being put, the amendment was defeated. With Ms Sweet in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the amendment: 9

Aheer	Ellis	Pitt
Barnes	Gill	Schneider
Cyr	Orr	van Dijken

Against the amendment: 35

Hinkley	Phillips
Horne	Piquette
Jansen	Renaud
Kazim	Rosendahl
Kleinsteuber	Schmidt
Littlewood	Schreiner
Mason	Shepherd
McLean	Sigurdson
Miller	Sucha
Miranda	Turner
Nielsen	Westhead
Payne	
	Horne Jansen Kazim Kleinsteuber Littlewood Mason McLean Miller Miranda Nielsen

Debate adjourned.

Government Bills and Orders

Second Reading

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 14 An Act to Empower Utility Consumers - Hon Ms McLean

A debate followed.

Debate adjourned, Mr. Orr speaking.

Adjournment

Pursuant to Standing Order 4(2.1), the Assembly adjourned at 12:00 p.m. until 1:30 p.m.

WEDNESDAY, MAY 2, 2018 — 1:30 PM

ROUTINE

Members' Statements

Mr. Drysdale, Hon. Member for Grande Prairie-Wapiti, made a statement regarding the recent vicious attack in Toronto that killed 10 people and the United Conservative Party's support for the Government's proclamation of May as Sexual Violence Awareness Month.

Ms Goehring, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Castle Downs, made a statement regarding the future of Alberta's energy industry, the importance of the Trans Mountain pipeline project, and expressing support for Bill 12, Preserving Canada's Economic Prosperity Act.

Mr. Yao, Hon. Member for Fort McMurray-Wood Buffalo, made a statement regarding the hypocrisy of the British Columbia Government protesting against the environmental impact of pipelines while allowing a mine to leak acid waste into a salmon run for more than 60 years.

Mr. Sucha, Hon. Member for Calgary-Shaw, made a statement recognizing the accomplishments of the University of Calgary Dinos varsity sports teams in the 2017-18 school year.

Mr. van Dijken, Hon. Member for Barrhead-Morinville-Westlock, made a statement recognizing April 22 to 28, 2018, as National Organ and Tissue Donation Awareness Week and regarding a constituent whose son's heart was donated, whose wife received a heart transplant, and whose goal is to achieve a national organ and tissue donation registry.

Ms Renaud, Hon. Member for St. Albert, made a statement regarding the need to change our economy in order to maintain and improve our standard of living while avoiding the worst impacts of climate change, a view not shared by Hon. Mr. Kenney, Hon. Leader of the Official Opposition.

Tabling Returns and Reports

Mr. W. Anderson, Hon. Member for Highwood:

Letter dated February 2, 2018, from Nate Hillman, President, Northern Air Charter, to Hon. Ms Hoffman, Deputy Premier, Minister of Health, regarding irregularities in air ambulance requests for proposals and the misrepresentation of CanWest Air's safety record

Sessional Paper 114/2018

ORDERS OF THE DAY

Government Bills and Orders

Second Reading

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 12 Preserving Canada's Economic Prosperity Act — Mr. Coolahan on behalf of Hon. Ms McCuaig-Boyd

A debate followed.

3

Hon. Mr. Schmidt moved adjournment of the debate, which was agreed to. With Ms Sweet in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 38

Anderson (Leduc-Beaumont)	Hoffman	Payne
Carson	Horne	Piquette
Connolly	Jansen	Renaud
Coolahan	Kazim	Rosendahl
Cortes-Vargas	Kleinsteuber	Schmidt
Dach	Littlewood	Schreiner
Dang	Luff	Shepherd
Drever	Malkinson	Sigurdson
Eggen	Mason	Sucha
Feehan	McLean	Turner
Fitzpatrick	Miller	Westhead
Ganley	Miranda	Woollard
Hinkley	Nielsen	
Against the motion: 9		
Aheer	Gill	Panda
Anderson (Highwood)	Hunter	Stier
Drysdale	Nixon	Swann

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 13 An Act to Secure Alberta's Electricity Future (\$) — Hon. Ms McLean on behalf of Hon. Ms McCuaig-Boyd

A debate followed.

Mr. Dang moved adjournment of the debate, which was defeated.

Debate resumed.

Mrs. Aheer moved adjournment of the debate, which was agreed to.

Committee of the Whole

According to Order, the Assembly resolved itself into Committee of the Whole and the Acting Speaker left the Chair.

(Assembly in Committee)

Adjournment

Pursuant to Standing Order 4(4) the Committee recessed at 6:00 p.m. until 7:30 p.m.

4

WEDNESDAY, MAY 2, 2018 - 7:30 P.M.

Government Bills and Orders

Committee of the Whole

(Assembly in Committee)

And after some time spent therein, the Acting Speaker resumed the Chair.

The following Bill was reported:

Bill 15 Appropriation Act, 2018 (\$) — Hon. Min. Ceci

Second Reading

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 10 An Act to Enable Clean Energy Improvements — Hon. Mr. S. Anderson

A debate followed.

Mr. Cooper moved adjournment of the debate, which was agreed to.

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 11 Lobbyists Amendment Act, 2018 - Hon. Ms Gray

A debate followed.

Mr. Hunter moved adjournment of the debate, which was agreed to.

Adjournment

On motion by Hon. Mr. Feehan, Deputy Government House Leader, the Assembly adjourned at 10:01 p.m. until Thursday, May 3, 2018, at 9:00 a.m.

Hon. Robert E. Wanner, Speaker

Title: Wednesday, May 2, 2018